There are a variety of property damage offenses under Tennessee criminal laws, but all are serious and require a serious response on your part. You can’t just ignore it and expect the process to work itself out.
Any criminal charge in Tennessee can have serious consequences for your life and your future. Please contact us to find out how we can help you work through your legal problems, and fight on your side. When accused of a crime, you deserve the best legal defense you can get.
Tennessee Vandalism Laws & Penalties
Vandalism is defined as knowingly and/or deliberately causing damage to the property of another. Vandalism charges may arise from a domestic dispute or another type of argument, or other reasons.
Vandalism is punished as a theft crime and the potential sentence depends on the value of the loss.
Ref: TCA 39-14-408
|If the value is:||Then the charge and sentence is:|
|$500 or less||Class A misdemeanor (Up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines)|
|$500-$1,000||Class E felony (1-6 years in prison and up to $3,000 in fines)|
|$1,000-$10,000||Class D felony (2-12 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines)|
|$10,000-$60,000||Class C felony (3-15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines)|
|More than $60,000||Class B felony (8-30 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines)|
With all of these offenses, it is important to know that you may be required to pay restitution on top of the fines imposed. Restitution is simply payment or compensating the victim for the financial loss of the crime.
Tennessee Arson Laws
Arson is considered one of the most serious offenses against property. While causing damage to property is not usually as serious as causing harm to a person, arson carries stiff penalties because of the risk of harm and the huge financial losses involved.
Whether the fire or destruction of property was an accident or if you did something you now regret, we can help. When facing charges as serious as these you need an attorney of the highest caliber representing your interests and helping to make sure your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal justice process. We can be there for you.
We know how the Tennessee criminal courts treat accused arsonists. We know that you may feel like you have already been tried and convicted, that no one wants to hear your side of things. We do. We want to know the specifics of your case so we can be in a position to help you.
We have handled many arson, reckless burning, and vandalism cases in the Tennessee courts and we want to help you with yours. We get involved in cases because we care about the people. We care how your case turns out and we have your best interests in mind.
Legal Definitions: Arson vs. Reckless Burning
It is important to understand the differences between Tennessee criminal offenses like arson and reckless burning to know what kind of sentence you may be facing if convicted.
You may be charged with arson if you knowingly damage any structure by fire or explosion and you do so without the permission of the owner or person with interest in the structure or you do so with an intent to collect insurance or for any unlawful reason.
Arson is a Class C felony and carries a potential sentence of 3-15 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Ref: TCA 39-14-301
More serious than simple arson, aggravated arson carries much harsher sentences. You may be charged and convicted of aggravated arson if you commit an arson and someone is present in the structure you burn or if an emergency worker suffers serious bodily injury as a result of the fire.
Aggravated arson is a Class A felony, the most serious level of felony charges. A Class A felony carries a potential sentence of 15-60 years in prison and fines up to $50,000.
Ref: TCA 39-14-302
If you recklessly start a fire on the land, building, or personal property of another or if you start one on your own property but do not control it, allowing it to spread onto the property of another, you may be charged with reckless burning.
Reckless burning is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
Ref: TCA 39-14-304
Free Legal Consultation on Property Damage Charges in Tennessee
Facing any criminal charge, especially one as serious as serious as arson can be extremely stressful; you may be frightened and rightfully so. Putting your confidence in an experienced attorney can ease some of your stress. It is important to know that someone is looking out for your interests at a time like this.
Call for a consultation on your Tennessee property damage/vandalism/arson or reckless burning charge today.