Driving on a suspended license is a criminal offense under Tennessee law, and it is very easy to to get caught. A simple traffic stop for any reason will result in your arrest, but you can also easily be caught by simply driving down the road, and not doing anything wrong. Increasingly, police in Tennessee and nationwide are using passive license plate scanning technology to monitor and locate anyone with a suspended license or other issue with the Tennessee Dept of Safety.
And you can be arrested and charged even if you don’t know your driver’s license is suspended. Facing criminal charges in Tennessee is a serious matter. And if you were clearly aware of your suspension, entering that courthouse knowingly in violation of a court order (license suspension) will not look good in the eyes of the judge.
But we know how to help. We have successfully represented many clients on suspended license charges. We know what it will take to get you the best possible results on your day of court, and we understand you situation, and how these things can happen.
Of course we would never recommend you break the law and drive after you’ve been suspended, but we understand that it does happen. It can be a difficult challenge depending on where you live, to depend on family and friends for rides to work or school.
So we want to hear what happened and we want to help you. Contact us discuss your case, and we’ll help to work through your options, and let you know how we can try to avoid serious penalties and hopefully keep you from getting a permanent criminal conviction.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Tennessee
Driving while your license is under suspension is a criminal charge, and and criminal charge is a serious offense. A conviction means you risk possible jail time, significant fines, and a permanent criminal record that can follow you for life.
If you are caught driving on a suspended or revoked license and you have no prior convictions for this crime, you will face a Class B misdemeanor charge. A Class B misdemeanor carries a potential sentence of up 6 months in jail and fines up to $500.
If this is your second offense of driving on a suspended or revoked license in a 10 year period you will face Class A misdemeanor charges. This offense carries a potential sentence of up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Third or subsequent offense
If you have already been convicted of this offense twice in the past 10 years, you will face Class A misdemeanor charges which carry a potential sentence of up to one year in jail and fines of $2,500. In addition to this, you will face possibly being labeled a habitual offender and face permanent revocation of your driving privileges.
Ref: TCA 55-50-504
Free Case Evaluation for Tennessee Suspended License Charges
Regardless of how it happened, facing a criminal charge of driving on a suspended driver’s license is something you need legal help to resolve. Call us for a consultation and to speak about the specifics of your case today. Find out what we can to to help you fix this as painlessly as possible.